Research Program on Digital Innovation, Economics, and Strategy

The Research Program on Digital Innovation, Economics, and Strategy (RPDIES) uses quantitative analysis of large data sets and field experiments to study the economics, design, and management of digital businesses, innovation systems and platforms. RPDIES brings together methods from economics, social, behavioral and policy sciences with those of data science, computer science, and engineering. 

Representative topics of interest include open innovation, online platforms, crowdsourcing, algorithm and software design contests, Internet of Things (IoT), hackathons, digital tools and scientific collaboration, crowdfunding, big data and data science, open source and user innovation collaborative communities, apps, and peer-to-peer models. RPDIES is a newly formed initiative at Northeastern University across the School of Business, the College of Computer and Information Science and the Economics Department.

The IoT Open Innovation Lab is a special project of RPDIES to deploy an IoT Open Innovation platform to enable innovation, experimentation, and development of IoT applications by Northeastern community members. The project is supported by collaborations with industry and the wider university.